This isn’t the first time I start a blog. This really isn’t. However, I know that this time I can do this right and not give up after a few weeks!  I’m ready to put some order in my life and I’m soo ready to take on the challenges of macrobiotic eating.

A little about myself to start out.


I’m turning 19 this September but everyone I meet tells me the same thing. I look younger than I am but I act so much older. I try and take that as a compliment and I hope that when I get to 30 I still look like I’m 20!

Health Food

I am a self proclaimed health nut and spend a lot of my time in health food stores looking at the products and reading health magazines and articles online. This all started when this time last year when I got a job in a neighborhood health food store and became obsessed with trying all the food products and learning everything I could about the supplements. This job lasted 6 months and learned so much in that time. I still really love giving advice to people who ask for it. Ask away!

Fate steps in

I probably would have worked there much longer but f after a spur of the moment decision to go to an open audition for Air Canada, I was soon swept into training to be a flight attendant. So here I am now, four months later, living on my own for the first time in an unknown city and loving every minute of it. I live with two amazing girls from training in a beautiful neighborhood.

What to do with myself

With this job, I have so much time off. I honestly didn’t know what to do with myself. I spend days walking around the city soaking it all in. Spent afternoons in coffee shops or lounging in parks. But making friends in a strange city isn’t easy and my work buddies all had conflicting schedule so the days alone started to feel long.

Running

This is where running came in. I had been running on and off for about a 6 months and before that I was an avid yogi, going to classes 3 to 5 times a week. When I moved, I lost my studio, friends and favorite teachers so I stopped going but started running more frequently. Soon I was out almost every day. I joined a running group and met some great people and had something to fill in my evenings alone.

The Marathon

I am training for the Toronto Goodlife half marathon in October and find myself in better shape than I’ve ever been in my life. It feels amazing to be entered in my first ever race and I know that after this comes the full marathon. Exciting!

The Black Cloud

It’s hard for me to write this. I have told only a handful of people about this part of my life but there will never be a better time than now to get it out there and off my back. It’s time to heal.

Bulimia was a part of my life for over a year.

It started because of stress, the trigger is sugar and I have been okay for about 4 months now. I won’t talk much about it in this blog since it is in the past now but I want you to know it’s no joke and if you have been bulimic in the past or are struggling with it now please feel free to send me an email and we’ll talk, i know how hard it is, and I know how much you want to keep it to yourself, but talking about it sets it free and lets you begin to heal.

Healing

The only thing that has ever triggered me were sugary, refined foods. That is why I avoid refined sugar like the plague and have become so strict with what I eat, because I’m afraid that if I step out of line, I’ll be back down the same destructive path again. I want to start branching out and develop a more structured eating plan that will heal and help me perform athletically while allowing me to enjoy food and cooking again. Macrobiotics seems to be the answer.

The Kind Diet

I read Alicia Silverstones The Kind Diet and could relate with so much in there that I knew I had to start making an effort to become more like the superheros she describes. I’ve been Vegetarian since I was 13 and a (lenient) vegan for over a year now. I think we should all just listen to our bodies and eat what appeals to us and what will make us feel whole and grounded.

I want to eat a mostly macrobiotic lifestyle but I also want to enjoy all types of food. It’s what you do 90% of the time that counts right? I want to be able to enjoy the occasional piece of chocolate cake and eat sweat potato fries and burgers when I’m out with friends.

I want most of all for this to make me feel stronger and help me run farther and faster. What better way than to eat real unrefined grains and food straight from the source.

I hope you’ll join me for my journey and I can’t wait to get started.

🙂

Emma

